Doctoral Candidates

Doctoral Candidates are PhD students who have completed their course work, and comprehensive exams, and have successfully defended their Dissertation proposal

 


 

Salina Abji
Emerging Citizenships: Efforts to Address Violence against Non-Status Women in Toronto
Committee: Korteweg (supervisor), Landolt, Taylor
salina.abji@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu 


   

Katelin Albert
Technologies of Sexuality: A School-Based Ethnography of the HPV Vaccine in Toronto, Canada 
Committee: Choo and Korteweg (co-supervisor), Baber
katelin.albert@mail.utoronto.ca 
katelinalbert.com
academia.edu 


   

Louise Birdsell Bauer
Precarious Professionals: Non-Tenure-Track Faculty in Southern Ontario Universities 
Committee: Cranford (supervisor), Fox, Chun
louise.birdsellbauer@mail.utoronto.ca          
louisebirdsellbauer.weebly.com  academia.edu


 

 

Judy Beglaubter
Negotiating Fathercare: Exploring Parental Leave Use by Canadian Fathers
Committee: Fox (supervisor), Taylor, Johnston
judy.beglaubter@mail.utoronto.ca          
academia.edu


James Braun thumbnail  

James Braun
"Local Culture" and the Problem of Coordination: The Case of Jamaica's Diasporic Real Estate Market
Committee: Landolt (supervisor), Salem, Trotz
james.braun@mail.utoronto.ca           
academia.edu


 

 

Holly Campeau
Theorizing "Police Culture": An Institutional Analysis of the Police Department
Committee: Levi (supervisor), Kruttschnitt, Johnston
h.campeau@mail.utoronto.ca 
News


 

Sarah Cappeliez
Diffusing Terroir: A Comparative Case-Study of the Role of Terroir in Food and Wine in France and Canada
Committee: Johnston (supervisor), Baumann, Levi
sarah.cappeliez@mail.utoronto.ca
sarahcappeliez.wordpress.com academia.edu


 

 

Catherine Cheng
Intimate Frontiers: Chinese Marriage Migrants, Citizenship and Labour in Taiwan and Hong Kong
Committee: Hsiung (supervisor), Choo, Cranford
mc.cheng@mail.utoronto.ca
catherinecheng.org academia.edu


 

 

Steven Cook
A Comparative Analysis of the Violent Victimization Experiences of Street and School Youth
Committee: Tanner (supervisor), Brownfield, Wortley (U of T Criminology)
steven.cook@mail.utoronto.ca          
academia.edu


 Meghan Dawe

 

Meghan Dawe
Stratification in the Legal Profession: Social Capital and the Exclusion of Women, Visible Minority, and Immigrant Lawyers
Committee: Dinovitzer (supervisor), Levi, Welsh
meghan.dawe@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

 

Kim de Laat
Mesa-Level Influences on Creativity
Committee: Baumann (supervisor), Leschziner, Phillips (Columbia Business
kim.delaat@mail.utoronto.ca
kim-delaat.squarespace.com academia.edu


 

Jennifer Elrick
Family/Class: State-Based Boundary Work around Immigration and National Identity in Germany and Canada Since 1955
Committee: Korteweg (supervisor), Landolt, Reitz
jennifer.elrick@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 Athena Engman

 

Athena Engman
Organ Transplantation and the Variability of 'Embodied' Experience
Committee: Leschziner (supervisor), Silver, Bryant, Schneiderhan
athena.engman@utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 Omar Faruque

 

Omar Faruque
Mining Capitalism and Contentious Politics in Bangladesh
Committee: Hannigan (supervisor), Johnston, Schneiderhan
o.faruque@mail.utoronto.ca


   

Melissa Godbout
Corruption, Employment Inconsistency, and Getting Ahead
Committee: Anderson, Veugelers, Brym
melissa.godbout@mail.utoronto.ca

News


 

 

Joshua Harold
Mnemonic Boundaries: Historical Experience and Ethnic Boundary Making
Committee: Fong (supervisor), Silver, Baumann
josh.harold@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


Sean Hayes 2016  

Sean Hayes
Ethnic Concentration & Labour Market Outcomes in Early 20th Century Canada
Committee: Jones, Marin, Bryant
s.hayes@mail.utoronto.ca


 

 

Steven Hayle
Harm Reduction Policy in Canada and the UK
Committee: Tanner (supervisor), P. Erickson, Hermer
steven.hayle@mail.utoronto.ca


AngelaHick2017
Angela Hick
Mark of the Non-conviction Record: Police Contact and Employment Experiences
Committee: Welsh and Hannah-Moffat (co-supervisors), Goodman
angela.hick@mail.utoronto.ca

   

Alice Hoe
Working in Bad Jobs: Immigrants in the Canadian Economy
Committee: Boyd, Cranford, Milkie
alice.hoe@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 Andreas Hoffbauer

 

Andreas Hoffbauer
Theorizing Novelty: Innovation Processes in Architectural Firms and Early Stage Tech Startups
Committee: Schneiderhan (supervisor), Silver, Childress
andreas.hoffbauer@mail.utoronto.ca
andreashoffbauer.com News


 

Alexandra Hunter
Continuum of Carelessness: Paradoxes of Mental Health Care in Corrections
Committee: Hannah-Moffat, Goodman, Matheson
alex.hunter@mail.utoronto.ca 


 

 

Nathan Innocente
Organizational Risk and Mortgage Fraud
Committee: Welsh (supervisor), Dinovitzer, Hannah-Moffat
nathan.innocente@utoronto.ca

academia.edu


 

James Jeong
A Special Type of Social Control?: Explaining Victimization and Delinquent Behaviors of Immigrants and Their Children.
Committee:  Boyd and Tanner (Co-supervisors), Fong
junmin.jeong@mail.utoronto.ca


 Marie-Pier Joly

 

Marie-Pier Joly
The Effects of Contexts of Exit on the Economic Incorporation and Mental Health of Migrants in Canada
Committee: Wheaton and Landolt (co-supervisor), Reitz
mariepier.joly@utoronto.ca


 

 

Yang-Sook Kim
The Politics of Care: A Comparative Study of Co-ethnic and Local Women Workers in the Domestic and Long-term Care Market of South Korea
Committee: Cranford (supervisor), Choo, Chun
yangsook.kim@utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

 

Amy Klassen
Ordering 'Disorder': The Correctional Management of Difficult Inmates in Provincial Prisons
Committee: Hannah-Moffat (supervisor), Goodman, Maurutto
amy.klassen@utoronto.ca
News


 

Katarina Kolar
Differentiating the Drug Normalisation Framework
Committee: P. Erickson (supervisor), Green, Kruttschnitt
kat.kolar@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

 

Emily Laxer
Democratic Struggles and the National Identity Formation: The Politics of Secularism in France and Quebec
Committee: Korteweg (supervisor), Boyd, Schneiderhan
academia.edu


ChangZLin2017 Chang Z. Lin
Theorizing Dormancy
C
ommittee: Erickson (supervisor), Schafer, Marin
chang.lin@mail.utoronto.ca

 Elise Maiolino

 

Elise Maiolino
Identity Matters: A Critical Analysis of Political Leaders in Canada
C
ommittee: Taylor (supervisor), Baumann, Welsh
elise.maiolino@utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

Maria Majerski
Networks of Mobility and Constraint: The Social Capital, Economic Integration and Occupational Outcomes of International Migrants in Canada 
Committee: Erickson, Wellman, Fong
m.majerski@mail.utoronto.ca


Mitchell Mcivor  

Mitchell D. McIvor
Student Debt & Canadian University Graduates' Transition to the Labour Market: Historical Trends & the Role of Scoio-Economic Background 
Committee: Anderson, Brym, Wodtke
mitchell.mcivor@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

 

Diana Miller
Gendering Cultural Fields
Committee: Cranford (supervisor), Leschziner, Erickson
diana.miller@utoronto.ca
academia.edu 
News


Jaime Nikolaou Jaime Nikolaou
Gauging Longevity: Indicators from Canada's Reproductive Health Movement
Committee: Taylor (supervisor), Fox, Pettinicchio
j.nikolaou@utoronto.ca

 

 

Joanne Nowak
Moving Beyond the Lone Skilled Migrant: Establishing a Social Model of Skilled Migration and Integration Through a Case Study of Ghanaian Nurses
Committee: Cranford (supervisor), Landolt, Boyd
joanne.nowak@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


Merin Oleschuk  

Merin Oleschuk 
Health and Cooking in Value and Practice: A Mixed Methods Study of Food in Family Life.
Committee: Johnston (Supervisor), Baumann, and Milkie
merin.oleschuk@mail.utoronto.ca
merinoleschuk.wordpress.com  academia.edu  News


 

 

Kristie O'Neill
A New Doctrine of Development
Committee: Schneiderhan (supervisor), Silver, Johnston, Baber
kristie.oneill@utoronto.ca


 Agata Piekosz

 

Agata Piekosz
Polish Catholic Priests in Canada and Ireland: Migration, Leadership, and the Mobility of Strangers
Committee: Korteweg and Bodemann (co-supervisor), Taylor
a.piekosz@utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

 

Marianne Quirouette
Risks, Needs and Reality Checks: Problem Solving Work with Multiply Disadvantaged People in Conflict with the Law
Committee: Hannah-Moffat (supervisor), Goodman, Maurutto
marianne.quirouette@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

 

Cristian Rangel
In the Name of Health: Physicians Advocacy on Behalf of the Vulnerable 
Committee: Korteweg (supervisor), Leschziner, Albert (U of T Public Health)
cristian.rangel@utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

 

Ali Rodney
Healthy is the New Thin: Representations of Feminity on Healthy Living Blogs
Committee: Johnston (supervisor), Baumann, Power (Queens Sociology)
ali.rodney@mail.utoronto.ca
www.alexandrarodney.com
 


Kerri Scheer

 

Kerri Scheer
Producing Law and Governance: A case study of the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Ontario Disciplinary Process
Committee: Maurutto (supervisor), Goodman, Valverde


Rachel Schumann 
Families as Civilian Jailers: Exploring Accused-Family Relationships within the Context of Bail in Ontario 
Committee: Kruttschnitt (supervisor), Goodman, Dinovitzer
rachel.schumann@mail.utoronto.ca

Sarah Shah Sarah Shah 
Negotiating Power in Muslim Couples: Gender Strategies, Religious Resources, and New Bargaining Contexts 
Committee: Salem and Korteweg (co-supervisors), Baber
ssarah.shah@mail.utoronto.ca

 

 

Katie Stuart-Lahman
Sexual Minority Status and Mental Health Among American Youth: Understanding How Social Context Influences Sexual Identity and Mental Health
Committee: Wheaton (supervisor), Green, Schafer
katie.stuart@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

 

Chris Tatham
Sexuality, Human Rights, Prevention and the Criminalization of Non-Disclosure of HIV in Canada
Committee: Green (supervisor), Maurutto, Kruttschnitt
chris.tatham@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

 

Siyue Tian
Living Arrangements and Intergenerational Supports Among Immigrant and Canadian-born Seniors
Committee: Boyd (supervisor), Cranford, Schafer
siyue.tian@mail.utoronto.ca


 

 

Jenna Valleriani
'The Green Rush': Social Movements, Entrepreneurship and the Emerging Medical Cannabis Industry in Canada
Committee: Kruttschnitt (supervisor), P.Erickson, Dinovitzer
jenna.valleriani@utoronto.ca
academia.edu 
News


Lawrence Williams  

Lawrence Williams
Meaning at Work: How Expectations Shape Careers
Committee: Leschziner (supervisor), Korteweg, Tilcsik (Rotman)
lawrence.williams@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu


 

Burin Yildiztekin
The Liminality, Mundanity and Sacredness of Place: The Case of the Western Wall
Committee: Silver, Baumann, Ragab (Harvard)
burin.yildiztekin@mail.utoronto.ca
academica.edu

 


 Tony Zhang 2  

Tony Zhang
Contextual Effects and Support for Liberalism: A Comparative Analysis
Committee: Brym (Supervisor), Andersen, and Zhang
huiquan.zhang@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu News


PhD Students (pre-dissertation) 

Amny Athamny
amny.athamny@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu

Aya Bar Oz
aya.baroz@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu

Philip Badawy
philip.badawy@mail.utoronto.ca
Tyler Bateman
tyler.bateman@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu

Rene Bogovic
renen.bogovic@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Gordon Michael Eric Brett
gordan.brett@mail.utoronto.ca 

Milos Brocic
milos.brocic@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu   
Kusang Burgess 
kusang.burgess@mail.utoronto.ca 

Brigid Ellen Kealey Burke
b.burke@mail.utoronto.ca 

Fernando Calderon Figueroa
f.calderonfigueroa@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 

Elisha May Corrigan
elisha.corrigan@mail.utoronto.ca

Amanda Lynn Couture-Carron
amanda.couture@mail.utoronto.ca 

Miranda Elizabeth Doff
miranda.doff@mail.utoronto.ca 

News
Marie-Lise Drapeau-Bisson
ml.drapeau.bisson@mail.utoronto.ca  

academia.edu 

David Galano
david.galano@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 
Cinthya Guzman
c.guzman@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu

Bahar Hashemi 
bahar.hashemi@mail.utoronto.ca 
Mo Ismailzai
mo.ismailzai@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu   

Storm Jeffers 
storm.jeffers@mail.utoronto.ca 
Timothy Kang
tim.kang@mail.utoronto.ca

Jonathan Kauenhowen 
jonathan.kauenhowen@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 
Noga Keidar
noga.keidar@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 

Hammad Khan
hammad.khan@mail.utoronto.ca 
Jonathan Tomas Koltai
jon.koltai@mail.utoronto.ca 

James Gerald Patrick Lannigan
james.lannigan@mail.utoronto.ca 
Patricia Louie
patricia.louie@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 

Martin Lukk
martin.lukk@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 
Gabriel Menard
gabe.menard@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu News

Andreea Mogosanu
andreea.mogosanu@mail.utoronto.ca 
Atsushi Narisada
a.narisada@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 

Jean-Francois Nault
jf.nault@mail.utoronto.ca 

Paul Andrew Nelson
paul.nelson@mail.utoronto.ca 

Andrew Nevin
andrew.nevin@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 
Jason Edward Pagaduan
jason.pagaduan@mail.utoronto.ca 

Matthew Parbst
matt.parbst@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 
Shawn Perron
shawn.perron@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 

Taylor Price 
Priceta2@mail.utoronto.ca
Paul Pritchard 
paul.pritchard@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu 

Kaitlyn Quinn Kate Rozad
kate.rozad@mail.utoronto.ca 

Ioana Sendroiu
ioana.sendroiu@mail.utoronto.ca
Jason Settels
jason.settels@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu

Anna Slavina 
anna.slavina@mail.utoronto.ca  
Lance Stewart 
lance.stewart@mail.utoronto.ca  
academia.edu

Haosen Sun 
haosen.sun@mail.utoronto.ca  
academia.edu
Yukiko Tanaka 
yukiko.tanaka@mail.utoronto.ca 
academia.edu

Samia Tecle 
samia.tecle@mail.utoronto.ca
Spencer Underwood 
s.underwood@mail.utoronto.ca

News

Laura Upenieks  
laura.upenieks@mail.utoronto.ca  

News
Anelyse Weiler 
anelyse.weiler@mail.utoronto.ca  
academia.edu News

Mei-Yen Wong 
mei.wong@mail.utoronto.ca 
Angela Xu 
manx.xu@mail.utoronto.ca 

MA Students

Erika Canossini  

Chandra Dawn Erickson

Marie-Andree Hamelin

Robyn Jones

Yasmin Koop-Monteiro

Patrick Daniel Leduc

Laila Omar 

Jessica Stallone

Jelena Tubin 

Catherine Tze Hsuan Yeh

 

 

erika.canossini@mail.utoronto.ca    

chandra.erickson@mail.utoronto.ca

marieandree.hamelin@mail.utoronto.ca

robyn.jones@mail.utoronto.ca

yasmin.koop.monteiro@mail.utoronto.ca

patrick.leduc@mail.utoronto.ca

laila.omar@mail.utoronto.ca

jessica.stallone@mail.utoronto.ca

jelena.tubin@mail.utoronto.ca

catherine.yeh@mail.utoronto.ca