Faculty Members


Zaheer Baber

Zaheer Baber
Professor
zaheer.baber@utoronto.ca
416-946-5882

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: culture; ethnicity and immigration; science; technology



Jayne Baker
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream
jayne.baker@utoronto.ca
905-828-3948

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: education


Shyon Baumann

Shyon Baumann
Associate Professor
shyon.baumann@utoronto.ca
905-569-4978

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: cultural sociology; media; evaluation and classification; food; marketing
News


Berrey thumbnail

Ellen Berrey
Assistant Professor
ellen.berrey@utoronto.ca


Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: Socio-legal studies; race and racism; cultural sociology; organizations
Personal Website   News


Brent Berry
Associate Professor
brent.berry@utoronto.ca
416-946-4061

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: health; immigration and ethnicity


 
Irene Boeckmann 2016

Irene Boeckmann
Assistant Professor
irene.boeckmann@utoronto.ca
416-946-5890

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: work & inequality, gender, family, policy

 News

Monica Boyd
Professor
Canada Research Chair in Immigration, Inequalityand Public Policy
monica.boyd@utoronto.ca
416-946-5906

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: immigration and ethnicity; gender
News


jbryant

Joseph Bryant
Professor
joseph.bryant@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: theory; historical sociology; religion; the ancient world


Robert Brym 2016

Robert Brym
Professor
S.D. Clark Chair in Sociology
rbrym@chass.utoronto.ca
416-978-3410

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: political sociology, violence and intolerance; Middle East; intellectuals, social movements
Personal Webpage   News


Christian Caron
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream
Associate Chair, Undergraduate
christian.caron@utoronto.ca
416-978-8263

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: pedagogy
News


Clayton Childress
Assistant Professor
cchildress@utsc.utoronto.ca
416-946-5883

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: culture; books
News



Hae Yeon Choo
Assistant Professor
hy.choo@utoronto.ca
905-828-3942

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: gender; globalization; feminist theory and methods
News


Jennifer Chun 
Associate Professor
jchun@utsc.utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: work and stratification; labour; race; class; migration
News


Randol Contreras
Assistant Professor
r.contreras@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: crime; gangs
News


Cynthia Cranford

Cynthia Cranford
Associate Professor
c.cranford@utoronto.ca
905-569-4701

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: work and stratification; gender; race; 
class
News


Ronit Dinovitzer
Associate Professor
ronit.dinovitzer@utoronto.ca
905-569-4473

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: socio-legal studies; stratification; lawyers
Personal Webpage


Elcioglu thumbnail

Emine Fidan Elcioglu
Assistant Professor
fidan.elcioglu@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: political sociology; migration; borders; work and labor; ethnicity/race
Personal Webpage  News


Bonnie Erickson
Professor
ericson@chass.utoronto.ca
416-978-5263

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: culture; networks


Bonnie Fox
Professor
bfox@chass.utoronto.ca
416-978-4213

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: family and gender
Personal Webpage


Philip Goodman
Assistant Professor
p.goodman@utoronto.ca
905-569-4594

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: crime; prisons
Personal Webpage


Adam Isaiah Green
Associate Professor
adamisaiah.green@utoronto.ca
416-978-8261

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: gender; culture; theory
Personal Webpage


Kelly Hannah-Moffat
Professor
Vice Dean, Undergraduate at UTM
Director, Centre of Criminology and Sociolegal Studies
hannah.moffat@utoronto.ca
905-828-3945

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: crime; punishment; parole; gender
Personal Webpage


John Hannigan
Professor
Associate Chair, Graduate Studies
john.hannigan@utoronto.ca
416-287-7306

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: political sociology; environmental sociology; urban sociology
News


Joseph Hermer
Associate Professor
hermer@utsc.utoronto.ca
416-287-7304

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC

Research Keywords: crime; law; homelessness

 

Steve Hoffman

Steve G. Hoffman
Assistant Professor
steve.hoffman@utoronto.ca  

Undergraduate Campus: UTM

Research Keywords: science; technology and knowledge; culture; organizations; political sociology; social policy; theory; qualitative research methods
Personal Webpage  News


Ping-Chun Hsiung
Associate Professor
pchsiung@utsc.utoronto.ca
416-287-7291

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: family; gender relations; Sociology of Knowledge; Qualitative Methods; Globalization of Qualitative Research
Personal Webpage   News


Nathan Innocente

Nathan Innocente
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream
nathan.innocente@utoronto.ca
905-828-3945

Undergraduate Campus:UTM
Research Keywords: crime; sociology of professions; teaching and learning
News


josee johnston

Josée Johnston
Associate Professor
josee.johnston@utoronto.ca
905-569-4282

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: sociology of food; cultural sociology; consumer culture; gender; environmental sociology &political ecology; critical theory
Personal Webpage  News


John Kervin
Professor
john.kervin@utoronto.ca
905-569-4367

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: gender; orgamizations; work; labour market



Anna Korteweg
Professor
Department Chair, UTM Sociology
anna.korteweg@utoronto.ca
905-569-4901

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: Gender; political sociology; immigration (Europe/Canada); post colonialism and settler nationalism
Personal Webpage


Candace Kruttschnitt
Professor
c.kruttschnitt@utoronto.ca
416-978-8487

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: crime; socio-legal studies
News


Patricia Landolt
Associate Professor
Department Chair, UTSC Sociology
landolt@utsc.utoronto.ca
416-287-7156

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: immigration; ethnicity; social inequality


 Rachel la Touche 2016

Rachel La Touche
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream

rachel.latouche@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: Stratification/inequality, mental health, education, research methods, scholarship of teaching and learning
News


Jooyoung Lee
Assistant Professor
jooy.lee@utoronto.ca
416-946-5886

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: crime; socio-legal studies; health
Personal Webpage  News


YoonKyung Lee 2016

Yoonkyung Lee
Associate Professor
yoonkyung.lee@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: Political sociology, labor, class, social movements, and inequality
News


Vanina Leschziner
Associate Professor
vanina.leschziner@utoronto.ca
416-978-4535

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: stratification; work; labour markets; sociology of culture; networks; community
News


Ron Levi
Associate Professor
ron.levi@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: global affairs; crime; socio-legal studies; political sociology
Personal Webpage News


Kathy Liddle
Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream
kathy.liddle@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: sociology of culture; gender; inequality


Sida Liu

Sida Liu
Assistant Professor
sd.liu@utoronto.ca


Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: law, professions, globalization, social theory
News


William Magee
Associate Professor
william.magee@utoronto.ca
416-978-5405

Undergraduate Campus: St George
Research Keywords: health; mental health; quality of life; emotions

 

Neda Maghbouleh 2016

Neda Maghbouleh
Assistant Professor
neda.maghbouleh@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: ethnicity; immigration; gender
Personal Webpage   News


Alexandra Marin
Assistant Professor
alexandra.marin@utoronto.ca
416-946-5880

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: stratification; work; labour markets; networks; community
Personal Webpage News


Paula Maurutto
Associate Professor
p.maurutto@utoronto.ca
905-828-5316

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: crime; socio-legal studies; ethnicity


Andrew Miles
Assistant Professor
andrew.miles@utoronto.ca
905-569-4440

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: morality; cultural sociology
Personal Webpage


Melissa Milkie 2016

Melissa Milkie
Professor
Chair, Tri-Campus Sociology Graduate Department
melissa.milkie@utoronto.ca
416-946-5892

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: health; mental health; gender; family; sociology of culture
Personal Webpage


Ann Mullen
Associate Professor
mullen@utsc.utoronto.ca
416-287-7307

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: sociology of education; sociology of culture; gender; inequality


 Akwasi Owusu-Bempah 2016

Akwasi Owusu-Bempah
Assistant Professor
a.o.bempah@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: race, crime and criminal justice
News


Ito Peng
Professor
Director, Centre for Global Social Policy
itopeng@chass.utoronto.ca
416-946-5902

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: gender; family; political sociology; policy
Personal Webpage   News 


 
Kim Pernell 2016

Kim Pernell
Assistant Professor
kim.pernell.gallagher@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: economic sociology, organizations, banking and finance, law and regulation, historical sociology, culture, social policy
News


David Pettinicchio
Assistant Professor
d.pettinicchio@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: political sociology; social policy; law and society
Personal Webpage  News


 Jeff Reitz 2016

Jeffrey Reitz
Harney Professor of Ethnic, Immigration and Pluralism Studies
jeffrey.reitz@utoronto.ca
416-946-8993

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: immigration; ethnicity; stratification; work; labour markets
Personal Webpage  News



 Ashley Rubin 2016

Ashley Rubin
Assistant Professor
ashley.rubin@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: prisons, organizations, punishment, law, history
Personal Webpage  News


Rania Salem
Assistant Professor
rsalem@utsc.utoronto.ca
416-978-5801

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: gender; family; economic sociology; development



Markus Schafer 2016

Markus Schafer
Associate Professor
markus.schafer@utoronto.ca
416-946-5900

Undergraduate Campus: St George
Research Keywords: health; mental health; aging; networks; community
News


Scott Schieman 2014a

Scott Schieman
Professor
Department Chair, St. George Sociology
Canada Research Chair in Social Contexts of Health
scott.schieman@utoronto.ca
416-978-3411

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: health; mental health; stratification; work; labour markets
Personal Webpage News


Erik Schneiderhan 2016

Erik Schneiderhan
Associate Professor
e.schneiderhan@utoronto.ca
905-569-4898

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: social theory; political sociology; historical sociology; sociology of culture
Personal Webpage   News


Luisa Farah Schwartzman
Assistant Professor
luisa.fs@utoronto.ca
905-569-4643

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: ethnicity; immigration
Personal Webpage


Dan Silver
Associate Professor
dsilver@utsc.utoronto.ca
416-208-2698

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: sociology of culture
News


Julian Tanner
Professor
julian.tanner@utoronto.ca
416-287-7293

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: crime; socio-legal studies



Judith Taylor
Associate Professor
jtaylor@chass.utoronto.ca
416-946-5720

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: gender; family; political sociology

 

Lorne Tepperman
Professor
lorne.tepperman@utoronto.ca
416-978-8097

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: health; family; deviance; social control


Sheldon Ungar
Associate Professor
ungar@utsc.utoronto.ca
416-978-8097

Undergraduate Campus: UTSC
Research Keywords: sociology of culture


SOC back view

Jack Veugelers
Associate Professor
jack.veugelers@utoronto.ca
416-978-6002

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: immigration; ethnicity; political sociology


Sandy Welsh
Professor
Vice-Provost, Students
sandy.welsh@utoronto.ca
416-978-5290

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: health; mental health; gender; family; stratification; work; labour markets; social policy


Blair Wheaton
Distinguished Professor of Sociology
blair.wheaton@utoronto.ca
416-978-6317

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: health; mental health
News


Geoff Wodtke
Assistant Professor
geoffrey.wodtke@utoronto.ca
416-978-4726

Undergraduate Campus: St. George
Research Keywords: stratification; work; labour markets
Personal Webpage  News

Weiguo Zhang
Associate Professor
weiguo.zhang@utoronto.ca
905-828-3943

Undergraduate Campus: UTM
Research Keywords: gender; family; demography
Personal Webpage