Sociology students win SSHRC Doctoral Scholarships for their research 2020

August 25, 2020 by Jeremy Nichols

This year, five of our PhD students received funding from SSHRC. This funding will provide them with support for one to four years. Although all students in the University of Toronto graduate programs have a guaranteed funding package, receiving a SSHRC fellowship provides additional funding and allows them reduce the number of hours devoted to teaching and research assistantships so that they can focus on their dissertation research. All of our PhD students apply for external funding and receive training in developing proposals.

2020 SSHRC Doctoral Scholarship Recipients

Name Title
Anson Au Social Structural Transformations in Markets of Human Goods: An Economic Sociological Study of Cosmetic Surgery Consumption in South Korea
Eugene Dim Political Institutions and the Gender Gaps in Political Participation in Africa
Soli Dubash The Intergenerational Transmission of Mastery Beliefs Between Mother and Child
Kayla Preston Right-wing extremist deradicalization: steps toward rethinking racial identity for those who have left extremist groups in a North American deradicalization program
Jillian Sunderland Extremist Men: An Analysis of Masculinities in the White Supremacist Movements

Recipients from previous years among our current students

Amny Athamny, Phil Badawy, Tyler Bateman, James Braun, Milos Brocic, Amanda Couton-Couture, Meghan Dawe, Miranda Doff, Marie-Lise Drappon-Bisson, Athena Engman, Melissa Godbout,  Cinthya Guzman, James Jeong, Timothy Kang, Hammand Khan,  Patricia Louie, Gabe Menard, Andreea Mogoanu, Jean-Francois Nault, Andrew Nevin, Jaime Nikolaou, Merin Oleschuk, Laila Omar, Sebastien Parker, Shawn Perron, Taylor Price, Paul Pritchard, Kate Rozad, Kerri Scheer, Rachel Schumann, Ioana Sendroiu, Jason Settels, Sarah Shah, Anna Slavina, Yukiko Tanaka, Samia Tecle, S.W. Underwood, Laura Upenieks, Anelyse Weiler, Lawrence Williams and Dana Wray.