Current MA and PhD Students

Doctoral Candidates

Pre-Dissertation PhD Students

MA Students


Doctoral Candidates

Doctoral Candidates are PhD students who have completed their course work, and comprehensive exams, and have successfully defended their Dissertation proposals.

Photo Name, Topic, and Contact Info
View of the Banting building on the St. George campus

Amny Athamny

Keeping It All A Halal Muslim Was Never Harder: Identity Formation Among Second Generation Muslims in Canadian Urban Centers
Committee: Landolt (supervisor), Shams, D. Silver

amny.athamny@mail.utoronto.ca academia.edu

Philip Badawy Philip Badawy
A "Holy Grail" of Work and Family Life? Complicating Schedule Control as a Resource
Committee: Schieman (supervisor), Milkie, Schafer
philip.badawy@mail.utoronto.ca
Research Gate
Aya Bar Oz Aya Bar Oz
The Sanctity of Life and Unsacred Death: Negotiating the Value of Life in the State Organization
Committee: Levi (Supervisor), Dinovitzer, D. Silver
aya.baroz@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Tyler Bateman Tyler Bateman
Naturalist awakening: Disposition formation and autobiographical storytelling in naturalist awakening to the love of nature, practices to protect nature, and environmental justice
Committee: Johnston and Berrey (co-supervisors), Hannigan, Baber
tyler.bateman@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Rene Bogovic Rene Bogovic
The Polyvalence of Language in Ethnoracial Categorization: A Case Study of Afrikaans
Committee: Landolt (Supervisor), Farah Schwartzmann, Baber
rene.bogovic@mail.utoronto.ca
James Braun James Braun
Local Culture" and the Problem of Coordination: The Case of Jamaica's Diasporic Real Estate Market
Committee: Landolt (Supervisor), Salem, Trotz
james.braun@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Gordon Brett Gordon Brett
The Embodied Dimensions of Creativity
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Mullen
gordon.brett@mail.utoronto.ca
News
Milos Brocic Milos Brocic
Expression in Politics
Committee: Silver (Supervisor), Veugelers, Miles
milos.brocic@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
View of the Banting building on the St. George campus Brigid Burke
Violence and Interactional Boundary Work: Understanding, Controlling & Challenging Violence through Brazilian Jiu Jitsu
Committee: J. Lee (Supervisor), D. Silver,  Paradis
b.burke@mail.utoronto.ca
Fernando Calderon Figueroa Fernando Calderón Figueroa
The Spatial Context of Civic Engagement
Committee: D. Silver (Supervisor), Farah Schwartzman, Grigoryeva
f.calderonfigueroa@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
 

Erika Canossini
Towards a Sociology of Clemency: An Exploration of Pardons and Record Suspensions in Canada
Committee: Goodman (Supervisor), Ron Levi, Akwasi Owusu-Bempah
erika.canossini@mail.utoronto.ca

Alexa Carson Alexa Carson
Looking after los abuelos: How Latin American and Caribbean Immigrant Families Make Sense of Senior Care
Committee: Ito Peng (Supervisor), Emine Fidan Elcioglu, Melissa Milkie
alexa.carson@mail.utoronto.ca
Lei Chai Lei Chai
Work-Family Multitasking, Work-Family Conflict, and Health: Three Longitudinal Studies in Canada
Committee: Schieman (Supervisor), Milkie, Miles
lei.chai@mail.utoronto.ca
Marie-Lise Drapeau-Bisson Marie-Lise Drappeau-Bisson
Iconicity, Commemoration and Aesthetic Evaluation: The Case of the Reception of Québec’s Feminist “Big Book” L’Euguélionne
Committee: Taylor (supervisor), Baumann, Johnston
ml.drapeau.bisson@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Athena Engman Athena Engman
Organ Transplantation and the Variability of 'Embodied' Experience
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Bryant, Schneiderhan
athena.engman@utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Maria Finnsdottir Maria Sigridur Finnsdottir
Radical Women? Investigating Gender Disparities on the European Radical Right
Committee: Veugelers (supervisors), Y. Lee, Dokshin
maria.finnsdottir@mail.utoronto.ca
Jordan Foster Jordan Foster
The Rich Kids of Instagram: Symbolic Wealth and Social Visibility in the Digital Era.
Committee: Johnston, Baumann (co-supervisors), Pettinicchio
jordann.foster@mail.utoronto.ca
Ali Greey

Ali Greey
Agency, Inequality, and Privilege: Examining the Experiences of Trans and Non-binary Youth in Elite K-12 Schools
Committee members: Jessica Fields (supervisor), Hae Yeon Choo, Sharla Alegria
ali.greey@mail.utoronto.ca

Cinthya Guzman Cinthya Guzman
Boredom in (Inter)action: A Sociological Study
Committee: D.Silver (supervisor), Milkie, Fosse, Schneiderhan
c.guzman@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Bahar Hashemi Bahar Hashemi
Women's Negotiations over Citizenship Rights in Mixed Status Families in Canada: The Case of Sponsored Spouses and Parents and Grandparents who Arrive through the Super Visa
Committee: Landolt (supervisor),  Cranford, Choo
bahar.hashemi@mail.utoronto.ca
Angela Hick Angela Hick
Mark of the Non-Conviction Record: Police Contact and Employment Experiences
Committee: Welsh and Hannah-Moffat (Co-Supervisors), Goodman
angela.hick@mail.utoronto.ca
Julia Ingenfeld Julia Ingenfeld
Gender Inequality in the Labor Market: Trends and Mechanisms
Committee: Schafer (supervisor), Boeckmann, Fosse
julia.ingenfeld@mail.utoronto.ca
Storm Jeffers Storm Jeffers
On the Co-constitutionalism of Families & The Criminal Justice System: Narratives of Families as Penal Subjects & Penal Mediators
Committee: Goodman, Owusu-Bempah (Co-Supervisors), Flores
storm.jeffers@mail.utoronto.ca
View of the Banting building on the St. George campus James Jeong
A Special Type of Social Control?: Explaining Victimization and Delinquent Behaviours of Immigrants and Their Children.
Committee:  Boyd and Tanner (Co-supervisors), Fong
junmin.jeong@mail.utoronto.ca
View of the Banting building on the St. George campus Hammad Khan
The Crescent Moon through Maple Trees: An Examination of Settlement and National Belonging for Pakistani-Canadian Newcomers
Committee: Schneiderhan (supervisor), Korteweg, Maghbouleh
hammad.khan@mail.utoronto.ca
James Lannigan James Gerald Patrick Lannigan
Discourse and Structure: An Examination of the Organizational Identities and Networks of Contemporary Specialty Coffee Retailers
Committee: Erickson (Supervisor), Childress, Johnston
james.lannigan@mail.utoronto.ca
Chang Lin Chang Z. Lin
Theorizing Dormancy
Committee: Erickson (Supervisor), Schafer, Marin
chang.lin@mail.utoronto.ca
Martin Lukk Martin Lukk
The Distributional Question in Contemporary Nationalism
Committee: Schneiderhan and Wodtke (Co-Supervisors), Pettinicchio, Leschziner
martin.lukk@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
View of the Banting building on the St. George campus Andreea Mogosanu
Gender Inequality Taking a Long View
Committee: Dinovitzer (Supervisor),  Milkie, Pernell-Gallagher
andreea.mogosanu@mail.utoronto.ca

Mitra Mokhtari

Mitra Mokhtari
Complicity and Collusions: Locating the Canadian Criminology Department within the Carceral State
Phil Goodman (Supervisor), Paula Maurutto, Tim Bryan
mitra.mokhtari@mail.utoronto.ca

View of the Banting building on the St. George campus Jean-Francois Nault
Culture and Private School Choice: Uncovering the Cultural Dimensions of School Choice as Action
Committee: Childress and Baumann (Co-Supervisors), Davies
jf.nault@mail.utoronto.ca
View of the Banting building on the St. George campus Paul Andrew Nelson
Scaling-Up Local Food Systems: The Role of Cultural Intermediaries in Shaping Value and Transmitting Ideas about “Alternative” Food Production
Committee: Johnston (Supervisor), Baumann, Childress
paul.nelson@mail.utoronto.ca
Andrew Nevin Andrew Nevin
New Directions in Cyber-Criminology: Evaluating Alternative Explanations for Online Deviance
Committee: Kruttschnitt (supervisor), Miles,  Schieman
andrew.nevin@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Jaime Nikolau Jaime Nikolaou
Gauging Longevity: Indicators from Canada's Reproductive Health Movement
Committee: Taylor and Korteweg (co-supervisors), Fox, Pettinicchio
j.nikolaou@utoronto.ca
Laila Omar Laila Omar
Exploring Times of Uncertainty and Future Projections For Syrian Refugee Mothers and Youths in Canada
Committee: Maghbouleh, Milkie (co-supervisors), Shams

laila.omar@mail.utoronto.ca
Jason Pagaduan Jason Pagaduan
Mall Walking: Community, Pleasure, and Self-Preservation Among Racialized Older Adults
Committee: Baumann and Johnston (co-supervisors), Schafer
jason.pagaduan@mail.utoronto.ca
View of the Banting building on the St. George campus Matt Parbst
The Moderating Role of Social Policies on the Association between Social Inequalities and Mental Health: Evidence from the Effects of SES, Gender, and Marital Status on Depression
Committee: Wheaton (Supervisor), Milkie, Siddiqi, Boeckmann
matt.parbst@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Sebastian Parker Sebastien Parker
Continuity and Change in French Democracy
Committee: Veugelers(Supervisor), Dokshin, Fosse
sebastien.parker@mail.utoronto.ca
Shawn Perron Shawn Perron
Moral Economies in Decline? Unions, Income Norms, and Inequality in American Communities
Committee: D. Silver (Supervisor), Dokshin, Pettinicchio, Wodtke
shawn.perron@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Taylor Price Taylor Price
Songs and Songwriters in the Digital Age
Committee: Baumann (supervisor), Leschziner, Childress
taylor.price@mail.utoronto.ca
Kaitlyn Quinn Kaitlyn Quinn
“Good intentions pave many roads. Not all of them lead to hell”: An investigation of Canadian voluntary organizations’ work with criminalized women
Committee: Goodman and Schneiderhan (co-supervisors), Smith
Kaitlyn.quinn@utoronto.ca
View of the Banting building on the St. George campus Patricia Roach
patricia.roach@mail.utoronto.ca
Andrea Roman-Alfaro Andrea Roman Alfaro
Navigating the Continuum of Violence: An Ethnographic Study of Women’s Experiences of Violence in Peru
Committee: Goodman (Supervisor), Flores (Co-supervisor), Contreras, Taylor
andreandrea.romanalfaro@mail.utoronto.ca
Website
Kate Rozad Kate Rozad
Spoiled Identity? Exploring Stigma and Reentry following Wrongful Imprisonment
Committee: Goodman (Supervisor), Flores, Owusu-Bempah
kate.rozad@mail.utoronto.ca
Kerri Scheer Kerri Scheer
Producing Law and Governance: A case study of the College of Physicians & Surgeons of Ontario Disciplinary Process
Committee: Maurutto (Supervisor), Goodman, Valverde
kerri.scheer@mail.utoronto.ca
Lance Stewart Lance Stewart
What it’s worth: Preferences and Expectations of Music Listeners in the Evaluation of Material Affordances.
Committee: Leschziner (Supervisor), D. Silver, Childress
lance.stewart@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Haosen Sun Haosen Sun
Social Networks in the Aging Process: Geographical Structure, Support Exchanges and Turnovers in Europe
Committee: Schafer (Supervisor), Boeckmann, Berry
haosen.sun@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Yuki Tanaka Yukiko Tanaka
Decolonizing Immigrant Settlement: Immigrant Belonging in the Settler State
Committee: Cranford (supervisor), Farah Schwartzman, Adese
yukiko.tanaka@mail.utoronto.ca
academia.edu
Chris Tatham Chris Tatham
Sexuality, Human Rights, Prevention and the Criminalization of Non-Disclosure of HIV in Canada
Committee: Green (Supervisor), Maurutto, Kruttschnitt
chris.tatham@mail.utoronto.ca
Samia Tecle Samia Tecle
A False Bifurcation?: Understanding Canada's Inland Asylum Determination and Refugee Resettlement as an Interconnected System
Committee: Schwartzman and Elcioglu (Co-Supervisors), Maghbouleh
samia.tecle@mail.utoronto.ca
Spencer Underwood S.W. Underwood
Modern Daddies and Papas: Family, Parenting and Masculinities among Gay Co-Fathers
Committee: Fox (Supervisor), Taylor, Adam
s.underwood@mail.utoronto.ca
View of the Banting building on the St. George campus Meiyen Wong
Assessing Victim Safety in the Processing of Concurrent Criminal and Family Law Cases in Canada’s Integrated Domestic Violence Court
Committee: Maurutto (supervisor), Hannah-Moffat, Taylor
mei.wong@mail.utoronto.ca
Dana Wray Dana Wray
How Do Work-Family Policies Shape Parents’ Time with Children?
Committee: Milkie (Supervisor), Boeckmann, Peng
dana.wray@mail.utoronto.ca
Website
Man Xu Man Xu (Angela)
Explaining Chinese Independent Migration to Iran: Dynamic Migration Trajectories and Flexible Adaptation
Committee: Landolt and Hsiung (Co-supervisors), Hermer
manx.xu@mail.utoronto.ca
Catherine Yeh Catherine Yeh
Gender Inequality and Knowledge Production in the New Knowledge Economy
Committee: Baumann (supervisor), Dokshin, Johnston
catherine.yeh@mail.utoronto.ca

PhD Students (Pre-Dissertation)

 


MA Students