Congratulations to the 2018 SSHRC Graduate Fellowship Recipients

August 1, 2018 by Sherri Klassen

This year, six of our PhD students received fellowships from SSHRC. One received Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarships Program—Doctoral Scholarships and the other five received SSHRC Doctoral Fellowships. This funding will provide them with support for one to four years.

Although all students in the University of Toronto graduate programs have a guaranteed funding package, receiving a SSHRC fellowship provides additional funding and allows them reduce the number of hours devoted to teaching and research assistantships so that they can focus on their dissertation research. All of our PhD students apply for external funding and receive training in developing proposals.

2017-18 SSHRC Fellowship Recipients

  • Cinthya Guzman  for her project, Boredom in (Inter)action: A Sociological Study Across the Life Course
  • Sebastien Parker for his project, Relational processes between anti-hegemonic organizations: A comparative analysis of the far right in France, Italy and Spain
  • Hammad Khan for his project, "[...] I Live Here Too [...]": An Ethnographic Study of Sense of Belonging among Pakistani-Canadian Newcomers
  • Shawn Perron for his project, Organized Labor and the Moral Economy: The Association Between Union Density and Egalitarian Attitudes (1973-2016)
  • Laila Omar for her project, Outside the mosque: Understanding the role of religious identity in the integration process of Syrian newcomers in Canada
  • Kate Rozad for her project, Spoiled Identity? Exploring Re-entry After Wrongful Conviction

Recipients from previous years among our current students

Katelin Albert, Amny Athamny, Tyler Bateman, James Braun, Milos Brocic,  Amanda Couture, Meghan Dawe, Miranda Doff, Athena Engman, Melissa Godbout,  Andreas Hoffbauer, James Jeong, Timothy Kang, Amy L. Klassen, Katarina Kolar, Patricia Louie, Gabe Menard, Andreea Mogoanu, Jean-Francois Nault, Andrew Nevin, Jaime Nikolaou, Merin Oleschuk, Paul Pritchard, Kerri Scheer, Rachel Schumann, Sarah Shah, Anna Slavina, Yukiko Tanaka, S.W. Underwood, Anelyse Weiler and Lawrence Williams.